The five Naiset Huts were built by the Alpine Club of Canada founder A.O. Wheeler in 1925. These rustic one-room log huts served as the overnight accommodations for patrons of his Banff-Assiniboine "Wheeler's Walking Tours". Perched on the east shores of Lake Magog and nestled under Naiset Peak (Naiset means "sunset" in Sioux language), the heritage huts now provide basic overnight shelter for Park Visitors. The recent addition of the Wonder Lodge Cooking Shelter provides Hut users with a comfortable communal cooking and socializing area.
The Hind Hut is a climbers hut and is accessed by climbing a steep headwall on narrow and exposed ledges. Good conditions, route finding and climbing skills are required to access this hut. A welcomed upgrade to the Hind Hut occured in the summer of 2011.
Both the Naiset Huts and the Hind Hut are owned by BC Parks and operated by Assiniboine Lodge. Reservations are recommended in the summer to quarantee a space in the Naiset Huts. Visitors who do not have a reservation should be prepared to camp. Reservations are mandatory for the Naiset Huts in the winter. Reservations are mandatory for the Hind Hut. Contact the Assiniboine Lodge reservation office to make your booking.